Beauty Update – Moisturiser

My Mother has always worked in the beauty industry, which has meant endless supplies of beauty products and being forced to start a strict cleansing and moisturising routine in my early teens – I know I can’t complain.

Through watching and listening to my mum, I have learnt lots of little beauty tips and tricks, which I love to share with my friends.

Using the right beauty products is part and parcel of looking after yourself. People often forget or ignore the advice to follow a cleansing and moisturising routine – they’ll be sorry when they’re old and wrinkly.

As I’ve got older, I’ve found the products that I like and that suit my skin but I still love to experiment with new products, particularly because I believe that your skin gets “used” to and reliant on the products you use. I like to mix it up, and make sure my skin is kept looking its best.

Lately, I’ve introduced two new moisturisers into the mix:

  • Philosophy take a deep breath oil-free oxygenating gel cream, which you can buy in the UK for £29.50 (for 60ml) at Boots; and
  1. Beauty Kitchen Abyssinian Oil Facial Moisture Cream, which you can buy in the UK for £19.99 (for 60ml) at Holland & Barrett.

Alongside, my all-time go-to day moisturiser, Clarins HydraQuench Cream for normal to dry skin, which has recently been replaced by its apparently new and improved sibling Hydra-Essentiel, I am yet to pick up a pot (approx £36 for 50ml).

DSC_0390

The Philosophy moisturiser has fast become an everyday favourite. This product is the first gel-cream that I have tried and just as it promises on the bottle, it allows my skin “breathe freely”. It’s super light and perfect for under make-up everyday.

The Abyssinian Oil Facial Moisture Cream can be used day & night. For me, I find the cream is too heavy for everyday and under make up however, it’s found a new home in my gym washbag. Every Sunday evening, I pop off to the gym for a swim and a steam, after my shower, my skin is desperate for some hydration. This moisturiser is fragrance free, super gentle and restorative thanks to its vital ingredient, Abyssinian oil.  I reckon it’s good for banishing wrinkles.

To apply moisturiser, warms a pea size amount between your hands before massaging into your skin using upwards and outward movements. Don’t forget to cover your neck and décolletage using long upwards strokes.

A little beauty hack for gym goers and those on the move: collect product samples for your gym washbag, whether free with a magazine or gifted when purchasing products. They’re lighter to carry around, free and a way of trying new products, like this week, I used Rituals magic touch body cream post-gym, which I grabbed with my latest copy of Balance Magazine. Simples.

IMG_0281

Leave a Reply

