Burn’s Night Leftovers

On Saturday Night, James & I hosted our second ever Burn’s Night Supper in Brussels. Last year was such a hoot, we could not resist having another party.

You can check out my post from last year here, which is full of details on our evening and the instructions for cooking haggis.

Seemingly, after you host a dinner party, all you have is the memory of the great night you had and you forget all the pre-party prep that had to be done. It does not matter how organised I am, I still wake on the day of a party, with a rumble in my tummy and anxious for all that has to be done.

Luckily, the night went swimmingly.

I chose simple decorations for the table: white cloth, tartan ribbon and white roses.

dsc_0105

In true Burn’s Night style, we partied into the night enjoying rather too much whiskey.

DSC_0203.jpg

This year, we had a little left over haggis for the following day. Not really fancying my third Burn’s Supper of the week, I took to the internet in search of an alternative Haggis recipe. My, my, my, who knew there were so many ways to enjoy Haggis.

Haggis pasta immediately took my eye, *mainly because it was the simplest recipe and I was still tired from the celebrations*.

There were several recipes for Haggis based pasta dishes. Again, I chose the easy way – thank you Miracoli – for Brits, that’s Dolmio pasta sauce. A pre-made tomato based sauce, easy and tasty for everyday, on-the-go cooking.

Instructions for 2

Dice and fry one small white onion, add in the leftover haggis (enough for two) with some salt & pepper until thoroughly heated through, then add one jar of Miracoli (of your choice, I picked the simple tomato with garlic). Bring to the boil and simmer. Meanwhile cook your pasta. Then serve. I told you it was simple.

dsc_0317

Tasty & incredibly filling.

dsc_0318

Although, next year, I think I’ll try a different way to use my leftover Haggis.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh how I miss haggis! Can’t imagine it in a tomato sauce though, but don’t see why not 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely a strange combination at first but very tasty 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

