Christmas Spirit – The Liebster Award

This morning, I was graced with a nomination for a Liebster Award by Thistles and Kiwis. I quickly delayed my prepared post until tomorrow so that I could respond to my nomination. Why? you may ask. Why? not just respond to the nomination tomorrow. The truth is, I  was struck by the friendly spirit of the nomination and what a better time to receive such a gift and share this kindness than in the build up to Christmas.

I started following Thistles and Kiwis earlier this year as the writer is Scottish (like half of me) and lives abroad (like whole of me). I’ve really enjoyed reading her Christmas Blogmas Posts. Go check them out. But most importantly, I thank you Thistles and Kiwis for your blog, for this nomination and for reading my blog.

So the Liebster Award, it exists on the internet and is gifted blogger to blogger.

Here are the rules: 

Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.

Answer the 11 questions the blogger gave to you.

Nominate at least 5, but no more than 11 bloggers who deserve the award.

Tell those bloggers you nominated them!

Create 11 original questions for the nominees to answer.

You can find out more here.

3and3quarters-net_

So here goes. Questions for me. 

1.Coffee or tea?

Whilst, I love my morning cappuccino (thanks to my  Nespresso machine) nothing beats a very strong cup of proper English Breakfast Tea. When everything has gone haywire, a cuppa resets me.

2. What is your favourite city and why?

It has to be home, London. I love exploring the world and I constantly fall in love with different cities. I often get bored of London,  but I can say that because I’m a  Londoner, it’s my home. But I’d disagree with any non-Londoner  if they said the same. London is greatest city, my favourite city and I won’t let anyone diss my hometown.

Just some reasons why I love London:

It has great public transport – yes commuters complain daily – that is until they have tried public transport in other major cities.

It is alive 24 hrs (thanks to the new 24hr tube).

You can get anything and everything you want.

It’s full of glamour whether it’s the West End or the East End.

It is a multicultural city. A city of freedom and expression.

It sparkles at Christmas, I’m sure you can see it in space.

3.Name three things in your fridge right now.

Mint Sauce, Brita Filter and a lot of cheese.

4.What was your favourite book as a child?

Roald Dahl, the Twits.

5. To where are you planning your next trip?

Budapest, Hungary in January 2017 for a friend’s wedding.

6. Salty or sweet?

Salty, I’m already too sweet *couldn’t help myself*

7.What film do you like to sit down and watch on a rainy day?

Anything by Pixar.

8. What do you normally have for breakfast?

Granola and yogurt but really I’d love some toast and marmite.

9.What do you enjoy most about blogging?

Sharing my experiences. It is a way of keeping in touch with home and also, I hope, a way of either inspiring others to take the leap and move abroad or helping those living abroad to feel like they are not alone.

10.What is the best time of day for you?

This changes depending on my routine. At the moment, it is around 5pm when it gets dark and I can turn the lights on my Christmas Tree.

11. Where do you go to switch off from the world? Beach, mountains, forests, or urban streets?

To the mountains to hit the slopes. I love to ski. It is freeing.

My Nominees: 

A foodie housewife

The Honest Guide To Being a Bride

London, Law and More

A pleasant little kitchen

American Expat in EuropeAmerican Expat in Europe

So my turn, nominees, if you would like to participate, the questions for you are:

  1. What inspired you to start your blog?
  2. What are you doing for the Holidays?
  3. What is your dream meal?
  4. What is your signature dish?
  5. If you could go anywhere for the rest of the day (free and immediate teleportation to said destination), where would it be?
  6. And what would you do?
  7. What is your favourite travel item?
  8. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?
  9. What is your favourite saying/quote?
  10. What languages do you speak?
  11. Where is home for you?

3and3quarters-net_

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for your kind words. Love your answers (and yes also love toast and mamite!). Wishing you all the best for the festive season and look forward to reading more of your blog in 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gerri says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

