Jamie’s Bombay Chicken (sort of)

I just can’t help myself these days can I? Faced with the eternal question – what to have for dinner – and in a desperate bid not to have to decide, I *perhaps stupidly* asked James to pick anything he wanted and I would make it.

I quickly regretted the idea when I saw him grab Jamie Oliver’s recipe book Everyday Super Food.

To think this time last year, I couldn’t even boil an egg successfully and I nearly always overcooked or undercooked – the latter wasn’t so pretty.

Not afraid of a challenge, I popped to our local shops and found almost everything. Well not the numeric, the black mustard seeds or the poppadoms.

dsc_0473

Instead I added a few little things to the recipe, bits from the fridge that needed to be used – some courgette and baby asparagus.

dsc_0486

I was rather confused as to whether the spinach was to be left raw or steamed. So I did half and half, which I think worked rather well as you had the crunch of the raw spinach but warmth of the cooked.

dsc_0484

The recipe advises you to make the marinade and pour it into the oven dish containing the chicken. Despite the missing numeric and black mustard seeds – the marinade was absolutely delicious and very flavourful. It kind of solidifies during the cooking process – so you won’t have a runny dish. I reckon you could also use it on a nice white fish if you wanted to make the meal vegetarian.

img_8631

The favourite part of the dish for me is the delicious yogurt sauce.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any poppadoms last minute here in Brussels so I purchased some prawn crackers instead. I thought they went rather well. The yogurt was also very nice on the vegetables.

I can imagine though that the sauce and the poppadoms taste very good with the chicken dish.

 

dsc_0488

Leave a Reply

