De Foodhallen

Luckily for James & I his birthday coincided with the Belgian bank holiday and for us, this could only mean one thing – a weekend away – and where better than Amsterdam, especially as it is just over two hours away from Brussels by car.

On the Friday evening, James picked me up from work and we drove to the Dam. Following some heavy research I discovered that parking in Amsterdam Centre itself is a fortune, our hotel (which I could not praise more) offered parking for €50 a day so that would have been a total of €200 for the long weekend.

What I want to share with you is Amsterdam’s amazing Park & Ride scheme. Find one of their carparks and follow their (*quite strict but easy to follow*) rules and you’ll find yourself paying €3. It was quite nice to see the total cost of parking fall from just under €200 to €3.

What a bargain, easy to follow and superb access to the City Centre.

After we checked into our Hotel , the location of which I cannot praise enough, James & I set-off to follow my well organised itinerary of fun, starting with food. De Foodhallen was recommended to me by expat friends that live in Brussels and love to travel. It was a 15 minute walk from our hotel, which gave James & I the chance to explore the canals and get a real feel for Amsterdam in the evening.

IMG_7645

Just as it sounds, De Foodhallen, is a food hall. It is a little like Borough Market (in London), only inside, dedicated to pop-up food stands, bars serving all kinds of beers and cocktails and a DJ. The place had a wicked vibe. Also it was full of locals rather than tourists, which we instantly loved. James & I grabbed a table, some drinks and then ordered food.

IMG_7650

It was so hard to decide which foodstall to choose but Bulls and Dogs really took our fancy. I guess chiefly because we don’t eat hotdogs very often but also because they offered the deal of the century, any five hotdogs from their menu for €25.

Naturally, we went for one of each.

DSC_0006.JPG

They were all scrummy.

IMG_7667

Though, I especially loved the Texas Hot Link -it’s the spicy one.

As the place was dark and busy, I wasn’t able to really capture the atmosphere to share with you – slash to show you what a fabulous place it is and maybe even persuade you “off the tourist-track” to discover this place if and when you may visit Amsterdam – anyway here are some pretty terrible photos that I did get which may give you a little feel for the place, for a better idea check out this link.

More on Amsterdam to follow.

Leave a Reply

