Six months in Brussels: a little update 

About a month before I moved to Brussels, I headed out to visit James (and our lovely home) one more time, with my parents and James’ family too, a hoorah together before Christmas and an opportunity to pre-deliver my belongings before a hectic Christmas in Scotland and New Years in Megeve.

I took the Eurostar on a Friday evening after work and I sat next to a lovely and chatty Flemish gentleman. Our chitter-chatter centred around the generic question strangers ask when travelling, where have you been and where are you going?

I quickly explained: moving to brussels, James work, quit my job, hope to find one, will be applying for dream job back in London at the same time. The answer really should have been that all I really knew was that I was moving to Brussels. I was just trying to justify my move, in case he was judging me – we all do it right?

I sit here now, on my six months Brussels anniversary, on the Eurostar again and heading back to Brussels after a quick weekend trip home. I wonder if I regret it – the move – was my colleague right on my first day of work, did I make a mistake.

Imagine if I knew how things would go, would I still have done it. This experience is certainly somewhat quenching my thirst for something new/adventurous, I have and am continuing to carve a life in Brussels, I am happy, happier maybe than ever before, minus one thing, one buggery little but pretty major thing, what the fuck am I doing with my career. Above mentioned dream job, did yet again not become a reality, and my current job in Brussels is due to end and whilst it may not, I still need to prepare. Career wise, I feel like I am always in limbo, never quite reaching the target. Happy mostly, nonetheless confused with life. Is it always that when one is great the other isn’t. Like personal life and career are always on a sliding scale, as one goes up, one goes down or perhaps I’ve just not found my centre (as they say in Yoga, I believe).

Today, then also marks around six months of blogging. I hope you have enjoyed it. It really started it as a distraction for when I was not working but now it seems it’s a way to document and share my experience in Brussels, as an expat and as me. The whole blogging thing still seems a bit strange to me. I’m not really a whack your camera out in a restaurant kind of girl which is why most of those kind of snaps are very averagely taken on my iPhone but I can’t help it, I just want to share this experience with you. I’m having a great time, career & future aside, the present is great, living in the moment, ideal.

I’ve been so touched by how many have joined in and read along, so I take this chance to thank you and if you have not already & would like to you can get my posts by email (scroll down to bottom of page to sign up).

On a different but related note, this also marks six months of living with James. Honestly, you might think after being apart for five + years it would be different living together, its really not, we just get to see each other more. Being in Brussels, we mark being together for six years. Another six. I wonder if that’s my lucky number.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Oh, I’m so glad to have just discovered this blog! I moved to Brussels in July and am just celebrating MY first six months in Brussels. (Time flies, doesn’t it?!) I’m really looking forward to catching up on your posts and learning from your expat experiences!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so pleased to read this. Time flies when you’re having fun 🙌🏽Please don’t hesitate to get in touch, there are so many places I’ve visited and problems I’ve faced here! Always happy to help!

      Like

  2. donalclancy says:

    LOL. Big difference between living in “Limbo” and living in “Limo”

    Like

  3. love this post and your blog! Good luck with your new adventure, i look forward to read more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

