BBQ-Time

Since we first fired up our barbie, it has rained non-stop.

In an effort to make it feel like summer, I decided that we would host a BBQ, come rain or shine as one of my best friends and her boyfriend were visiting us for the weekend.

All-day saturday, the weather flicked between sunshine and showers. Luckily, the rain finally passed-by around 5pm, just enough time for our terrace furniture to dry-off and the coal to start burning.

Naturally, I made nachos to nibble on with homemade guac whilst we waited for the meat to cook.

With the assistance of my friend, we prepared a tomato and mozzarella salad with homemade basil dressing, so good, liquidise basil leaves, olive oil, white wine vinegar with a few shakes of salt and pepper.

DSC_0469

Pesto pasta

DSC_0477

Salad, sweet potato fries, corn on the cob, halloumi cheese, coleslaw and lots of meat.

DSC_0483

With the triumph of my homemade accompaniments, I was feeling rather settled into my role in the kitchen.

DSC_0475

Plus lots of champagne, well we were celebrating as my best friend and her boyfriend recently got engaged, oh wait, my best friend and her fiancé.

DSC_0502

James and I purchased new table cloths from Zara Home especially for the occasion, I thought they went perfectly with our napkins and frogs.

DSC_0503

As you can see, the boys didn’t handle the BBQ quite as well as I did the other week and the home-marinaded honey & mustard chicken was slightly burnt. Surprisingly though, very tasty.

DSC_0505

Kindly JC picked up some proper British sausages for us from Marks & Spencer. Perfect.

DSC_0507

Delicious, especially when enjoyed with friends.

DSC_0510

DSC_0515

DSC_0519

The food was followed by lots of laugher, drinking games, some mario kart and dancing until very late.

DSC_0536

DSC_0525

DSC_0535

 

 

Leave a Reply

