Nostaglia

As you may have guessed, James and I visited Vienna last week. I use the word “visit” because we did, like a old friend, pop-by to say “hello” and basque in its brilliantness.

Vienna, if you have not visited, is a truly magical city, something James and I had forgotten.

I landed quite late on Friday evening, took the super express train from the airport into the city centre, popped on the U-Bahn (underground) to Volkstheater and exited to street level where I found myself alone, on the street corner surrounded by the magnificent buildings that dominate the Museumsquartier.

The streets were quiet, clean and the air was warm.

The station was a short walk from our hotel – which I will share the details of in my next post – where I met James and enjoyed a Hugo (see previous post Ah Vienna) at the hotel’s roof top bar.

The next day was spent in cafés, restaurants and bars, all over the City, together and with friends.

Of course, I wanted to share this with you, in case you fancy a trip – or maybe I can persuade you to visit – to what I believe is one of the most magical and romantic cities in Europe.

IMG_6806

First stop, coffee and cake, for breakfast of course at Julius Meinl am Graben where we sat, in the glorious sunshine watching the fleets of tourists being guided around and the locals out and about on their morning errands.

Followed by a long walk around the gardens and grounds of the city centre.

IMG_6801

IMG_6821

 

IMG_6796

IMG_6824

IMG_6827

 

IMG_6809

IMG_6814

IMG_6840

IMG_6835

IMG_6860

IMG_6870

IMG_6871

IMG_6863

IMG_6876

One thing, I always love about Vienna, are the street lights that were introduced last year. The lights depict straight, gay and lesbian couples and were introduced to encourage tolerance. I read that they were only meant to be temporary but I hope they stay forever.

IMG_6872

We spent the rest of the day on the riverbank. Each summer, certain parts of the river banks are covered in pop-up bars, restaurants and shops. On sunny days, the river is lined with bodies picnicking and have a merry old time.

We joined friends at It’s All About the Meat Baby, where we tucked into hangover chips and fresh burgers.

Screen Shot 2016-06-09 at 20.49.39.png

Then we did a little bar crawl down the river and finally settled at Tel Aviv Beach for more drinks and more food – and watching the sunset.

IMG_6847

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

