Proper grown up stuff

I never recall the fuse of anything ever being blown or ever having to contemplate replacing a fuse in my entire life.

I have lived in Brussels for almost four months and I’ve blown two.

The first went in my make-up lamp and now, my hairdryer. It’s like the fuse gods want me to go to work overloaded in bronzer and bedraggled wet hair.

On a mission, to replace the fuse, James and I visited some of the local ‘hardware’ stores. You know, like ‘B&Q’ or ‘homebase’. Guess what, helpful Brussels again, hardware stores do not sell fuses. Great. So I am sorry, brick-and-mortar shops but, this time, Amazon won.

As you may have noticed, if you read my blog, I have learnt to cook while living here in Brussels. I have tried my best. Since working, it has been hard to organise cooking as the shops helpfully close at 8pm and it is an ever-loosing battle trying to get home before then. In a mission, not to reduce take-aways and eating out, we, as grown-ups do, have taken to doing a weekly shop at the weekend. On a Saturday to be specific because supermarkets are helpfully shut here on a Sunday #life. With a meal plan in mind, we purchased our groceries. It was great during the week not having to worry about how and what to buy for dinner. Proper grown up stuff.

 

Leave a Reply

